Local weather forecast - train arrivals/departures below

NORTH MYMMS WEATHER

Welcome to North Mymms News

News and information for the Hertfordshire parish of North Mymms. There is a comment box beneath each item - you might need to disable any ad blocker temporarily to reveal. You can sign up for news update notifications at the top left of any page.

Xmas and new year bin collection dates

Saturday collections over the holiday period


Festive season bin collection details from Welwyn Hatfield council

Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council and Serco have announced changes to the local waste collection services over Xmas and the new year period. The council says a regular service will be provided, including collections on Saturday 22 and 29 December and on Saturday 5 January.

 NORMAL COLLECTION DAY          WILL BE COLLECTED ON
 Monday 24 December  Saturday 22 December (early collection)
 Tuesday 25 December  Monday 24 December (early collection)
 Wednesday 26 December  Thursday 27 December (late collection)
 Thursday 27 December  Friday 28 December
 Friday 28 December  Saturday 29 December
 Monday 31 December  Monday 30 December
 Tuesday 1 January  Wednesday 2 January
 Wednesday 2 January  Thursday 3 January
 Thursday 3 January  Friday 4 January
 Friday 4 January  Saturday 5 January

If you are not sure when your normal collection day is you can enter your postcode on the council site to find out. If you have a calendar card you can find out when the normal collection days should be and whether you are due a refuse or recycling and compost collection.

The council says that, despite the above schedule, collections might change over the holiday period, particularly if there is bad weather. In such cases people are asked to visit the council website for updates. Welwyn Hatfield says every attempt will be made to collect on the advertised day and if this doesn't happen Serco will attempt to collect the following working day.

Normal services are expected to resume from Monday 7 January, 2019. Anyone with questions or concerns should ring 01707 357000.

Festive season recycling


The council says local recycling centres can be used to recycle excess paper and card, glass, cans and plastic bottles.

Xmas trees should be taken to the nearest Household Waste Recycling Centre. Plain Xmas cards can be recycled through the kerbside scheme (put them in the inner box) or in the paper and card banks at the neighbourhood recycling centres. Cards that are heavily decorated with glitter, foil or string should be placed in the rubbish (black landfill) bin.




Your feedback on the articles posted on North Mymms News is always welcome. Please use the comment box below any news item to have your say. Comments are pre-moderated, so there will be a delay before they appear.


More articles

Please use the ‘next’ button above to access recent news items. If you want to contribute a news article please use the ‘contact us’ form in the right-hand column.