Local weather forecast - train arrivals/departures below


Conservatives hold Welwyn Hatfield

Labour second, Liberal Democrats come third

Brookmans Park polling station - image by North Mymms News released via Creative Commons

Grant Shapps has held his Welwyn Hatfield seat in the 2019 general election, winning 52.6% of the votes cast.

Labour's Rosie Newbigging came second with 31.6%, the Liberal Democrat candidate, Paul Zukowskyj, came third with 12.7%, and the Green Party candidate, Oliver Sayers, was fourth with 3.1%.

The Tory majority was 21.1% with a turnout of 69.8%. The votes are as follows:
  • Grant Shapps, Conservatives - 27,394
  • Rosie Newbigging, Labour - 16,439
  • Paul Zukowskyj, Liberal Democrats - 6,602
  • Oliver Sayers, Greens - 1,618
Data source: Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council.

Your feedback on the articles posted on North Mymms News is always welcome. Please use the comment box below any news item to have your say. Comments are pre-moderated, so there will be a delay before they appear.